{Jalapeno Tuna Casserole}

I have a hard time replicating my Dad’s amazing tuna casserole recipe but this was a good second option. When I picked up Chrissy Teigen’s new cookbook I knew this was definitely a recipe I had to try! I did make quite a few modifications to this but I’m sure the recipe as is would be great too!

See below for Chrissy’s original recipe and my modifications in parenthesis

Ingredients:

1 lb. corkscrew pasta (I used whole wheat penne)

3 cans of cream of mushroom soup

3 cans (5 ounce) water-packed tuna

1 1/2 cups whole milk (I used 2%)

1 cup frozen peas (I used carrots instead)

1/3 cup chopped celery

1/4 cup jalapeno peppers (if you like it hot leave in the seeds! I skipped the jalapenos because Alen isn’t really a fan)

3 cups extra sharp shredded cheddar cheese

1 tsp. ground pepper

Topping:

3 cups jalapeno flavored chips

1 1/2 cups extra sharp shredded cheddar cheese

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cook pasta until al dente, because you will bake this you want to under cook it a bit.

In a large bowl mix all of the other ingredients together. Once pasta is finished mix that in as well.

Grease a 9×13 pan and pour in mixture. Top with crushed chips and cheese.

Bake for 50-55 minutes or until the sizes are bubbly and the topping is browned.

*Additional Modifications & Suggestions:

-Even with skipping the jalapenos in the recipe the chips give it a little kick and a really good flavor. I think next time I’ll add some panko into the topping mixture to make it extra crunchy.

-I’d recommend sauteing the celery and carrots (if you choose carrots over peas) before adding it to the mixture. They were still a bit crunchy even after almost an hour in the oven.

Chrissy’s cookbook is definitely worth checking out, I’ll be making a lot of these recipes!

Leave a Reply

