Higgs Family Enchiladas

It’s been far too long since my last post! I’ve been trying out a new diet but soon realized it’s way too expensive and hard to make seperate dinners for me and Alen. Working on portion control and eating better throughout the day to balance whatever it is I make for dinner!

I recently had a few people come up to me and tell me how much they love the recipes I post and how the things they’ve made have turned out great. Most of these aren’t necessarily my recipes but I’m really glad the blog is getting use! I love hearing these stories so please share!

This recipe was taught to my Dad by a friend of his years ago and this was how her family made enchiladas. One of the ingredients may surprise you but it was her families secret ingredient that made these really pop. What is it you ask? Potatoes.

These are quick to make and full of flavor.

Makes 5 enchiladas

Ingredients:
1 lb. Taco meat (prepare your favorite taco meat recipe. Like I’ve mentioned before I prefer the Chi Chi’s green chili packets. Great flavor especially for this recipe!)
2 small russet potatoes or one large
2 cans Old El Paso mild enchalada sauce
Shredded cheddar cheese
5 burrito size tortillas

Preheat oven to 350. Prepare the taco meat to your liking while bringing a pot of water to boil to cook your potatoes. Cut potatoes in very small chunks and boil until cooked through. Add potatoes to cooked taco meat and make sure they’re mixed well into your taco meat mixture. Use a 9×13 baking dish and pour half of one can of enchalada sauce on the bottom of the pan. This will prevent them from sticking. Fill 5 tortillas with meat and potato mixture and roll up and set on top of the sauce. Pour your remaining 1.5 cans on top of the tortillas and add as much shredded cheese as your little heart desires. I usually do about half of a bag of shredded cheddar. Bake for 40-45 min until the cheese is nice and browned and the enchaladas are warm throughout.

Simple and easy recipe but so delicious! I’m obsessed with this Chi Chi’s taco seasoning and I’ve only been able to find it at Woodmans. I can’t guarantee the taste will be as good with something else but it’s always worth a shot! This seasoning compliments the sauce really well! Enjoy!

image

Leave a Reply

