Higgs Family Meatloaf

Are you ready for the best meatloaf you’ll ever have?? This is the meatloaf I’ve grown up on and if it wasn’t for this recipe I’m not sure I’d like meatloaf.

Usually I find it very dry and boring. I HATE ketchup on top of meatloaf but that’s just me, feel free to top yours if you’d like but I prefer good ol’ cheap gravy. Cheap gravy is basically the brown gravy packets you can buy super cheap at the grocery store. We came up with a really clever name for it I know. I love this stuff and prefer it over any other gravy.

Ingredients:
1lb. Ground Chuck
1lb. Ground Pork
1 egg
1-16oz tomato sauce
1 cup bread crumbs (I used Italian)
2 cloves of garlic
1 medium yellow onion
1 green pepper
Salt/Pepper
A few dashes of worcestershire sauce

Preheat your oven to 350 or 375 if you want it to cook a little quicker. I cooked mine at 375 for about 45min. Add onions, garlic and green pepper to a food processor or chop in very fine pieces. Mix all of the ingredients together and place in a 9×13 pan. Make sure your mixture is not soupy, add more bread crumbs as needed. Be careful not to add too much you don’t want to dry it out.

Like I mentioned I cooked mine for about 45 min. Watch for sides to start boiling and that’s your hint it’s all finished!

I always pair mine with homemade mashed potatoes, corn and cheap gravy! Hope you enjoy the recipe as much as we do and thanks Dad for coming up with it!

image

Leave a Reply

