Chicken and Shrimp Stir Fry

I loooooove stir fry, it’s easy, healthy and delicious what more could I ask for! I’m slowly trying to make healthier options  to save my waistline but it’s hard when you have a picky eater in the house like I do. Filling him up is a job in itself, if I only had his metabolism!  There are so many different variations you could do with this recipe but I opted to use chicken and shrimp as well as broccoli and water chestnuts. Alen had never had a water chestnut, I was mind blown. I didn’t have as much sauce as shown in the recipe picture but I think it’s because I had added so much more to my dish. I may double that next time! I used 2 market pantry chicken breasts and a handful of frozen shrimp, I’m also not a huge fan of soy sauce but I always keep the low sodium on hand so that’s what I used! I also skipped the ginger since I never have it on hand and probably wouldn’t use it before it goes bad. I’ve also always made white rice in a steamer so I felt like an idiot trying to make it on the stove but I managed to do it without setting the house on fire (almost set my dish towel on fire per the recipe below). I’d recommend using saran wrap instead of the dish towel, much safer haha. I also did not perfectly place that little baby shrimp in the picture below, that’s just how it ended up..show off 😉

http://stlcooks.com/2014/06/chicken-and-broccoli-stir-fry/

http://thewanderlustkitchen.com/how-to-cook-perfect-rice/

20150224_184000_resized20150224_184102_resized

Leave a Reply

