Chicken Tacos & Homemade Seasoning

THIS IS THE BEST CHICKEN YOU WILL EVER HAVE! I had planned on making this and realized I didn’t have any taco seasoning at home. Silly me who needs a package of taco seasoning when you have all the spices at home!? There aren’t many packages of taco seasoning I like and I may start making my own seasoning from now on. I’d definitely recommend making your own if you have all of the ingredients! I also added in about a half of a ranch packet (you could probably use a whole one but I had used half for another recipe). I combined a few recipes so I won’t be posting a link just what I did!!

For the taco seasoning:

1 tbs chili powder

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp salt or sea salt

1 tsp black pepper

1/2 tsp oregano

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp onion powder

1/4 tsp paprika

1/2 of a packet of ranch dressing (a whole one was too salty for me)

It should look something like this when you put it all together!

20150210_173020_resized

I put this all together the night before since Alen was in charge of starting the crock pot while I was at work and yay he remembered this time!

For the crock pot chicken I used 4 plain boneless/skinless market pantry chicken breasts and 2 cups of chicken broth and poured the taco mixture over it. I put this on low for 6 hours, at about 5 hours I tried taking the chicken out to shred it and realized it was melting like butter so I just shredded it in the pot. I shredded it up and let it cook for one more hour, that wasn’t totally necessary but we weren’t quite ready to eat. It was so flavorful and delicious we ended up eating most of it when I expected that to last for 2 nights! Perfect for tacos, enchiladas, burritos etc. I’ll be making this a lot!

20150211_181031_resized

Leave a Reply

