Jalapeno Cheddar Cornbread

This is by far my favorite cornbread recipe! The batch I made yesterday didn’t turn out as perfect as the first one I had made a few months ago and I think the problem was I didn’t have baking powder so I had to make some with baking soda and buttermilk but I still don’t think it worked and I also used pre-shredded sharp cheddar cheese. I think buying the block of cheese and grating it yourself makes it taste so much more fresh and cheesy, that cheese just doesn’t melt the same. I cut the batch in half and it’s still a massive portion! I like my cornbread on the sweeter side so even though I cut the recipe in half I still put in a 1/4 cup of sugar and I probably could’ve done a little more but that’s just me! The picture below is from the first time I made it!

http://bakinandeggs.com/2010/06/24/jalapeno-cheddar-cornbread/

Screenshot_2015-02-02-18-45-50_resized

Leave a Reply

